Josh Malerman Surprises With Book Cover Reveal

Josh Malerman, Bestselling author of Bird Box, is set to release Goblin through Del Rey Books/Penguin Random House in 2021. Goblin was originally published as a limited edition hardcover through Earthling Publications as part of their Earthling Halloween Series.


A MAN IN SLICES A young man wants to prove to his long-distance girlfriend that they have “legendary love,” better than Vincent van Gogh, so he sends her more than just his ear.

KAMP A man horrified of encountering a ghost sets up a series of “ghost traps” all over his apartment, desperate to catch one before it can sneak up on him.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HUNTER! Big game hunter Neal Nash leaves his own meat-themed birthday bash to go hunting for Goblin’s hallowed (and protected) Great Owl. But the North Woods are unkind at night.

PRESTO In the pages of Presto magazine, a young boy reads that his favorite magician, Roman Emperor, is coming to town. Problem is, Pete doesn’t know that Emperor’s magic is real, and his latest trick involves audience participation… from a little boy volunteer.

A MIX-UP AT THE ZOO Dirk Rogers works at both the Goblin Slaughterhouse and the Goblin Zoo, but the workload is really getting to him. Will he be able to separate the two jobs on the night he finally breaks down, or will the slaughterhouse and the zoo overlap in his cracked, dark mind?

THE HEDGES A young girl finally reaches the end of Goblin’s biggest tourist attraction, The Hedges. But what she finds there sparks a mad chase between the owner of the Hedges and the Goblin Police, through the streets of the rainy city and into the terrible North Woods.

Welcome to the town of Goblin. May your night there be wet with rain, breathless with adventure, and filled with fright…

Josh Malerman is known for Bird Box, but he has written some other great books as well. While you are waiting for the Goblin release, you should check out the following books:

  • Bird Box (2012)
  • Ghastle and Yule (2014)
  • A House at the Bottom of a Lake (2016)
  • Black Mad Wheel (2017)
  • Unbury Carol (2018)
  • Inspection (2019)
  • On This, the Day of the Pig (2019)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s